English Russia » Russian Music http://englishrussia.com Daily selected things from Russia and ex USSR countries. Published In English. Tue, 17 Oct 2017 18:54:00 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.0.1 What is Russia? 1. Balalaika http://englishrussia.com/2017/07/04/what-is-russia-1-balalaika/ http://englishrussia.com/2017/07/04/what-is-russia-1-balalaika/#comments Tue, 04 Jul 2017 12:59:33 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=168490 c61da2127531c9650d329171553f77e3Series of videos about Russia, first video is called “Balalaika”. Here is the video:]]> http://englishrussia.com/2017/07/04/what-is-russia-1-balalaika/feed/ 1 Collection of Soviet Vinyl Records Covers http://englishrussia.com/2016/11/30/collection-of-soviet-vinyl-records-covers/ http://englishrussia.com/2016/11/30/collection-of-soviet-vinyl-records-covers/#comments Wed, 30 Nov 2016 08:03:48 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=167097 Selection of Soviet era music nostalgia. Some of them seem pretty hilarious now. via]]> http://englishrussia.com/2016/11/30/collection-of-soviet-vinyl-records-covers/feed/ 2 Russian Acoustic Guitar Makers from Bobrovo Russia http://englishrussia.com/2016/01/13/russian-acoustic-guitar-makers/ http://englishrussia.com/2016/01/13/russian-acoustic-guitar-makers/#comments Wed, 13 Jan 2016 18:46:46 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=162646 It might be a surprising fact for you but in Russia there are still a few factories producing guitars. During Soviet times, Russian people had to buy mostly all locally made products, so guitar manufacturers were blooming. Then, Russia opened … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2016/01/13/russian-acoustic-guitar-makers/feed/ 7 Modern Hits on Balalaikas http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/16/160822/ http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/16/160822/#comments Wed, 16 Sep 2015 20:09:50 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=160822 Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/16/160822/feed/ 2 International Army Orchestras March thru the Red Square http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/10/international-army-orchestras-march-thru-the-red-square/ http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/10/international-army-orchestras-march-thru-the-red-square/#comments Thu, 10 Sep 2015 21:35:59 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=160598 Marina, one of the best everyday photographers in Russia that I have met so far, has come out again with a cool photo set of the Russian Army Orchestras festival on the Red Square taken at night. Be prepared to see a … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2015/09/10/international-army-orchestras-march-thru-the-red-square/feed/ 1 Mash Up http://englishrussia.com/2015/05/25/mash-up/ http://englishrussia.com/2015/05/25/mash-up/#comments Mon, 25 May 2015 21:16:28 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=159666 http://englishrussia.com/2015/05/25/mash-up/feed/ 6 Got Master Degree? Now Flee http://englishrussia.com/2014/09/04/got-master-degree-now-flee/ http://englishrussia.com/2014/09/04/got-master-degree-now-flee/#comments Thu, 04 Sep 2014 18:38:37 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=151756 thumb-20140904-1294590_0004So this is happening – Ukrainian professionals, including these musicians flee to Russia to get at least something instead of fully nothing they can get now in Donetsk, Ukraine and other Eastern parts of the country. Those told to be … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2014/09/04/got-master-degree-now-flee/feed/ 5 An Abandoned Soviet Cultural Center http://englishrussia.com/2014/04/07/an-abandoned-soviet-cultural-center/ http://englishrussia.com/2014/04/07/an-abandoned-soviet-cultural-center/#comments Tue, 08 Apr 2014 01:23:10 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=145076 As the photographer says: “In Soviet times authorities paid greater attention to the leisure time of Soviet citizens. In the 70’s and 80’s a lot of Dom Kulturi (or House of Culture in Russian or Cultural Centers) were built. Movies … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2014/04/07/an-abandoned-soviet-cultural-center/feed/ 5 Blood of Bloodhound Gang http://englishrussia.com/2013/08/03/blood-of-bloodhound-gang/ http://englishrussia.com/2013/08/03/blood-of-bloodhound-gang/#comments Sat, 03 Aug 2013 21:56:58 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=126969 83ae4d37c4bf91adf7e588b132990460What you see in the image above is a musician from the famous band Bloodhound Gang. What he is going to do next is to shove the flag of Russia into his pants during the show the band had in … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2013/08/03/blood-of-bloodhound-gang/feed/ 19 Russian Music 1987 http://englishrussia.com/2013/04/13/russian-music-1987/ http://englishrussia.com/2013/04/13/russian-music-1987/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 01:56:17 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=122562 Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2013/04/13/russian-music-1987/feed/ 7 Not Your Usual Gangnam Style http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/15/not-your-usual-gangnam-style/ http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/15/not-your-usual-gangnam-style/#comments Sat, 16 Mar 2013 03:07:48 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=121980 Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/15/not-your-usual-gangnam-style/feed/ 2 United Forever in Friendship and Labor http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/06/121822/ http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/06/121822/#comments Wed, 06 Mar 2013 23:30:00 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=121822 http://englishrussia.com/2013/03/06/121822/feed/ 18 Stupidity. Talent. Alien Languages. http://englishrussia.com/2013/02/19/stupidity-talent-alien-languages/ http://englishrussia.com/2013/02/19/stupidity-talent-alien-languages/#comments Wed, 20 Feb 2013 04:10:08 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=121598 Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2013/02/19/stupidity-talent-alien-languages/feed/ 1 With a Song About Beloved Company http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/19/with-a-song-about-beloved-company/ http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/19/with-a-song-about-beloved-company/#comments Thu, 20 Dec 2012 04:57:18 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=115920 diL6We have found more videos made by people who are devoted to the companies they work for. This time it is the staff of the trade-union “Iskra” (“Sparkle”) who sing about their job and workers of the company “Post of … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/19/with-a-song-about-beloved-company/feed/ 7 Proud To Work Here! http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/17/proud-to-work-here/ http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/17/proud-to-work-here/#comments Tue, 18 Dec 2012 02:52:47 +0000 http://englishrussia.com/?p=115734 CCq0The Murmansk hospital created a musical advertising video, where its workers sang about their job, how much they were devoted to their work and how much they liked to “live” in this “blue house” as they called it. The security … Read more...]]> http://englishrussia.com/2012/12/17/proud-to-work-here/feed/ 3