Autumn is a time of cloudy and gloomy weather, and to feel the atmosphere in a proper way, we decided to go to a really atmospheric place. One of abandoned churches near Yaropolets, which was built in 1780-s, fits the concept very well.
The Kazan Our Lady Icon’s Church ia a unique landmark of XVIII century. The two domes are identical to each other, as well as the temple and the mausoleum under them.
Here are some copies of the church draft dated by about 1770 – 1780-s.
The idea of combining a church with a burial gave a birth to an architectural composition unique for Russia.
In 1917 a hurricane teared the crosses away from the domes.